White Noise

Confessions of a Human Brain

The ‘n’ word

Posted by Joe on October 11, 2007

Visualize the kid telling Bruce Willis similar to that in Sixth sense

“I see nerd people. Walking around like regular people. They don’t see each other. They only see what they want to see. They don’t know they’re nerd.”

What a taboo about the word nerd. Most of the guys don’t want themselves to be called as nerd (palam in Tamil). I have seen some of my class mates who have done nothing other than studies in their BE days and have come outside the college to brag to other about how freaky they were and how they enjoyed the college life. If any one asks them what they mean as enjoyment, I bet you 5 rupees that they can’t come up even with a single incident.

So the main reason the ‘n’ word is a taboo is due to the fact that nerds are not supposed to have fun. They are not supposed to have any cool friends either. They are just supposed to adhere to the rules and not do anything funny. Having a girl friend is completely out of question.

But normally, I get very happy when some one calls me as nerd. My philosophy is that; consider you are going to get married. When your in-laws come enquiring about you, what will make them happy? If they come to know you as a person who is really calm, respects every one and studies well or as a person who is a wastrel, drinks a lot and have lot of problems everywhere? Yeah both are different ends of the spectrum and yeah, people like nerds.

For me, those good old days when my friends called me nerd are over. Its not that I have changed. It is all because of Einstein. In BE, I was one of the most studious person in my group and they still call me nerd. But after coming to IIT, I am no way near those guys who munch each and every line of the text books. So yeah nerd is relative.

2 Responses to “The ‘n’ word”

  1. Charu said

    didnt know u were a nerd in college???:-;

  2. Mr. A said

    WordPress? More like nerd press!

Leave a Reply

 
